Longing to be inspired

August 18, 2009 at 1:49 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

There is one reason that I buy magazines and that is to be inspired. I buy Vogue, Harper’s Bazaar, Instyle etc to be inspired by glamourous fashion that I could never afford. I buy Russh and Frankie to be inspired by quirky design, people and products. I buy Mindfood and Yen to be inspired by great people doing great things. But why can’t one magazine have the perfect blend of all these elements?

I love magazine spreads that have been pain-stakingly put together with so much thought and care that it transports you away from your desk and inspires you to get up and make or do something truly special. In my opinion, magazines are focusing too much on selling and product placement and not enough on inspiring the women that purchase their magazine.

I tend to get a lot more inspiration from blogs online than I do from the glossy magazines. I think my expensive magazine habit may be coming to an end. INSPIRE ME GLOSSIES! xx

Leave a Reply

