Skin Horror Picture Show

September 16, 2009 at 2:09 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

Okay, I’m the first to admit that I did not have a skin regime to speak of a year ago. I cleansed my face every morning and took my makeup off at the end of the day (if I remembered). My skin was probably screaming at me to tone and moisturise but I thought that due to the oilyness of my skin that it would make it oilier. Shows what I knew.

I went along to the PRIMPED LookBook launch event on Friday night and had the lovely Zoe Foster (editor in chief) tour me and 19 other girls around David Jones’ beauty counters giving us tips and tricks and her picks for Spring.

When it came to questions, I asked Zoe what her usually daily routine for skincare is. I was astounded that she rattled off about 12 steps and stated that she likes to keep it simple! I hadn’t even heard of using a serum on your skin! So afterwards I approached her, with a slight blush, and asked where I should go for great skincare. She listed a few and I headed toward Ella Bache (who I’ve been talking to re a facials and morning tea event).

Sarah from Sarah’s Style Emporium came with me and decide to go through the same horrifying experience that I did. We placed our face in a box with a mirror facing us, kitted out with UV lights. I almost screamed – I didn’t even recognise myself. They took a photograph which got worse as it developed.

It turned out that I had quite a bit of sun damage (probably due to not wearing sunscreen EVERY day instead of just sunny days, who knew?) but in general my skin was in good condition, just dehydrated. So I walked away with a serum (Zoe swears by them), sunscreen, moisturiser and was lucky enough to receive a mini eye cream in my giftbag from PRIMPED and DJs.

I’m on Day 6 and my skin feels plumper (in a good way) and strangely cleaner.. fresher. Will go back to Ella B (as Sarah and I started to call it) in a month to compare horrifying pictures. I’ll let you know.

Have a fantastic Thursday! xx

Leave a Reply

