One of those days

October 18, 2009 at 2:07 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

today

A couple of days ago I had one of those days. I took the day off work because I have not been sleeping well and was a walking zombie the day before and would have been useless at the office. Slept for so long that the doctor was fully booked out, so I couldn’t get an appointment. The chemist gave me ‘drowsy pills’ and sent me home.

I came home and burst into tears.

It was one of those days when I didn’t want to be alone in my apartment. One of those days where I couldn’t stop thinking of all my failures and inadequacies. I needed to do something about this – it’s not healthy or productive. I turned to the queen of positivity and magical joy. – Gala Darling.

Her blog has a list of 100 Things To Do When You’re Upset (The Sad Trombone List)“. Just what I needed.

Some of my favourites are:

  • Turn up music you really love. Play it so loudly that it soaks in through your skin. Dance in your pyjamas. Feel the pain lift.
  • Buy a harmonica & annoy the hell out of everyone while you learn how to play it.
  • Pour pancakes in the shape of your initials. Eat them while watching aerobics on television.
  • Find a secret place with a great view. Like a tree, or a rooftop, or a hill.

When you’re feeling great, use your positivity to write a similar list of things that always cheer you up, so that when you have one of those days – you are full of ideas on how to get back on track. 

xx

Leave a Reply

