Dress for the job you want

November 26, 2009 at 6:59 am (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

I often get asked “Where are you off to after work?” or “Have you got something special on tonight?” because at my day job in Collins St, a suit is uniform. I do own a suit (and a cute one with a pleated jacket and pencil skirt at that) but I find that my creative streak just won’t allow me to wear a suit and a crisp white shirt day in and day out.


It reminds me of high school. I went to an all girls school with a teal uniform. Teal is not my colour.. actually, is teal anyone’s colour? As at all uniform schools, they were strict on what kind of shoes you could accessorise your uniform with, how long your skirt was and what colour socks were appropriate. It drove me crazy.
So I took matters into my own hands and decided to express myself the only way I could – my hair. I have always had long blonde hair and would create masterpieces through braiding, twisting, tying and accessorising my unique hairstyles. When my sister (2 years younger) started at the same school, she informed me that the girls in her year called me ‘Weird Hair Girl’. I didn’t care, they were obviously just not very imaginative!

I think the unspoken uniform of the corporate world takes me back to those days in high school and I just can’t allow myself to be restricted in such a way. So I dress up.
I wear huge ruffle skirts in silver and black, orange silk party dresses and off the shoulder tops with cute detailing. Everyone in my office seems which bemused as to why I dress up so much in a small corporate office, but as my friend reminded me last night – Dress for the job you want, not the job you have.

2 Comments

  1. Reebcca said,

    lol I am the same although I am guilty of wearing my worst clothes to work now that I work in an office in the industrial area of south Melbourne. when I go home I dress up and do my hair and make-up – even when i am staying home lol

  2. Sarah said,

    Will you crack up when I say I was EXACTLY the same in high school re: the hair? On muck up day my hair was the target for many after spending years ensuring I never wore the same thing day after day!! Now, what to wear to Collins Street tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

