Another Year Older

December 23, 2009 at 10:14 am (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

Well, Monday was my birthday and after all the lovely messages, phone calls, cards and presents; you are left with the feeling of slowly but surely getting older.

I’m not really sure what I think about ageing. I’m a little vain to get very excited I’d have to say.

I think as a teenager, I saw 24 as being an age where everything in life would have slipped into place. That I’d be a more successful, slimmer, financially stable, well-travelled version of myself. The problem is that we (I) tend to focus on what we haven’t achieved rather than what we have.

Achievements of a 24 Year Old

☆   I have a Bachelor of Music (majoring in Performance Voice) and Certificate IV in Training and Assessment

   I won my school talent quest in my final year and The Establishment Idol in Wellington in my early twenties. Haha! No but seriously, I have performed a hell of a lot and recorded my own demo CD at 19.

☆   I have travelled to Rarotonga, Scotland, Ireland, Britain, France, Italy, Germany, Austria and Bali.

☆   I moved countries by myself

☆   I got my drivers license and a cute little Honda Jazz

   I started my own business and knew when to change direction with it (better late than never)

   I have stuck with my personal trainer for 12 months

☆   I do still rent my apartment, but I do own a washing machine, fridge, dining table, bed and fold out sofa bed.

   I managed to snag the best boyfriend in the world (don’t ask for tips, I have no idea how I did it)!

   I am no longer in credit card debt

I think it’s important to remember everything that you have accomplished (and believe me, it’s not easy – this short list took me hours to complete), because too often we dwell on where we thought we would be and who we thougth we would be by a certain age.

 

 

Celebrate everything that you are great at and proud of. Do it today. Do it right now, go on!

3 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    Hurrah! What a brilliant way to look at it! You go girlfriend!!

  2. Rebecca said,

    Happy Birthday (again) for the other day – congratulations on all of your accomplishments!

  3. Eternal*Voyageur @ Venusian*Glow said,

    You’ve achieved quite a lot at 24 !
    You’re a Cappy by the way, you’ll like this:
    http://mizian.com.ne.kr/englishwiz/library/names/zodiac/capricorn.htm

Leave a Reply

