There is no excuse to not be amazing

January 25, 2010 at 11:07 am (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

Two things influenced me to write this post. The first being this article at Goodlife Zen (34 Reminders for a Fullfilled Life) and the second was my session in the recording studio on Saturday.

I recorded two songs on the weekend, one by Kelly Clarkson and the other by Christina Aguilera. Both extremely vocally challenging. They didn’t come out perfect. The producer and my boyfriend kept telling me how great I sounded, but I wouldn’t listen, because it wasn’t good enough for me.

Perfectionism is an issue for many people, myself included and it can suck the joy out of any wonderful experience. The problem is not that you’re not good enough, but that it’s not good enough for you.  If you set the standard impossibly high, you will always fail. If you celebrate yourself for your strengths and your shortcomings, there will be much less “failure” in your life.

Here are some ideas that I am trying this month to ease up on myself.

   Write down a list of all your achievements (big and small) every month. When you encounter a disappointment, read back over these.

   Reward yourself for little wins, the tiny steps of success so you can look back and say “Well I didn’t achieve my goal, but look what I did achieve on the way!”

   Take risks, but remind yourself that these are risks and may not pan out the way you want them too, but you will have learned a lot from the experience.

   Think of success and perfection as completely different things. Passing an exam with an B+ or A- is just as much of an achievement to be proud of as an A.

   Have fun. Learn to love yourself and embrace life’s difficulties.

There is no excuse to not be amazing when you are creating your own rules and boundaries. Let yourself feel amazing!

Striving for excellence motivates you; striving for perfection is demoralizing -Harriet Braiker
Use what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent if no birds sang except those that sang best – Henry van Dyke


PS:  Welcome to my new readers! Please feel free to let me know if there’s anything you’d particularly like to see or talk about on Dream. Delight. Inspire. I’d love to hear from you.

1 Comment

  1. Tom said,

    Here here…I couldn’t have put it better myself =)

Leave a Reply

