Giving

February 15, 2010 at 2:12 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

On the weekend I went to my birthplace of Adelaide (in South Australia for those non-Aussies) for my grandfather’s 80th birthday celebrations. It is a short flight and I left on Friday night in order to have dinner with the family that night.

My grandfather is fairly eccentric and can be a little hard to endure for long periods of time. However, I am very fond of him and speak to him almost weekly over the phone. I am not a religious woman but agreed to go to church with him on Sunday morning. Grandpa is a Unitarian. According to him they believe in freedom, honesty and peace. I like that mantra.

During the service,  I started to think about how much I am currently giving to my loved ones and my community. It is so easy to get swept up in your own life and forget about the world around you. I will often make small donations to charities, tell my friends and family that I love them and will sign petitions that I believe in; but I realised that I should be doing so much more. More active giving.

Active giving in my mind involves time, effort and/or money. Volunteering at a retirement home or a soup kitchen, visiting ill children at hospital with gifts, sponsoring a child or endangered animal – all these are examples of active giving and I’d like to do more of it. Yes, it’s hard to find the time but it is much more rewarding than watching an episode of a reality TV show you don’t even like, so it is time to stop making excuses and to just do it.

What do you do to give back?

2 Comments

  1. Sarah said,

    I remember you bought me a Christopher Vine business card holder when we had only been friends a few months because the girl painted on it was wearing a full skirt and you remembered that I love full skirts. Such a simple gesture and you made me feel like I was the most special person on the planet! Thank you!

  2. KK said,

    Aww thanks Sarah, I suppose that’s right. You never know how much of an impact a small gesture can have on a person either.

Leave a Reply

