Amelie

April 4, 2010 at 12:01 am (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

I watched Amelie tonight – one of my favourite movies. I haven’t seen it in a while and I forgot all the beautiful lessons it teaches and how they each affect me.

Quirks. We should love people’s quirks and embrace them rather than seeing them as strange or bizarre. Perhaps they are, but isn’t that what makes each of us interesting? Some of my favourite scenes in this movie are where you find out what each character’s secret love is – all of them inventive and peculiar in some way.

Routine. Another message of this film is that often people will not change their lives unless they are forced to. Amelie herself has to interfere in their lives in order for others to break out of destructive patterns. Why is it so hard to do this ourselves?

Be kind. We don’t do this enough which is odd because it feels so good when we do.

Take risks. Don’t let fear stop you from experiencing anything. Think of the best thing that could happen, not the worst.

Use your imagination. Sometimes I feel old when I think of how little I use my imagination nowadays. Why limit dreaming and creating to our childhoods? It’s much more useful and scarce in our adult lives!

Have you seen Amelie? What did it teach you or make you think about?

Leave a Reply

