Slowing Down

April 20, 2010 at 12:50 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings) (, , , )

I love being busy. I love the adrenaline that keeps you going when you have a tidal wave of chores, hobbies, work projects and social engagements hovering above your head. I am always being told I need to slow down and I agree.

How long can you keep up a frenetic lifestyle? I’m often getting sick, don’t have a lot of energy and have trouble sleeping. This is why I’ve become addicted to health and wellness blogs, researching techniques to slow your life down and am trying to pay attention to what my body needs.

Recently I read Sarah Wilson’s blog post How To Quit Multi-Tasking, Already and realised that this is me to a tee. The craziness of life and juggling everything on your plate means that you cannot really focus on any one thing.

There is a lot of information out there on how to lead a ‘slower’ life – meditate every morning, become a yoga enthusiast, block out time during the day to relax and spend time on yourself etc. It is all a little overwhelming and I’m not too sure where to start.

SQUARE ONE

I have retrieved my diary out of the bottom of my bag where it has stayed (untouched) for at least a month now. I always have the best of intentions in January and by March it has fallen over. Anyway, I have my diary to schedule any lessons, reminders, events or social engagements and a separate notebook to jot down tasks for the day in a to do list format. Here are some of the tips I am going to take on board this week.

  • Apparently, you should work on the day’s most important task first. DO   NOT check emails, make phone calls, update your Twitter status or browse the internet until this task is done. This will ensure that you feel a sense of accomplishment first off and the rest of the day can be a little more stress free knowing that that task is crossed off.
  • If you feel the urge to participate in something distracting – stop. Breathe and refocus yourself.
  • Schedule your day in blocks set aside for certain tasks or certain types of tasks, always allowing small blocks of free time in case something urgent comes up. Between tasks make time to check emails and messages – but not as often as you usually would.
  • Put all incoming work into the one pile and go through this systematically. Do not put anything aside “for later”. Either complete the task, file it away or add it to your schedule to complete at a specific time.

This article from Zen Habits is fantastic and goes into a  bit more detail abut how NOT to multi-task.

Would you like your life to be a little slower? What changes are you thinking of making to allow yourself more “down time”?
1 Comment

  1. hollyjcurtis said,

    Oh I totally agree. Always frazzled running from one job/chore/task/assignment/run. Mother always telling me to slow down but how?! Things need to be done !

Leave a Reply

