Are you eating the right foods?

May 10, 2010 at 2:14 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings) (, )

I feel amazing. My eyes are brighter, my skin is clear and plump, my clothes are fitting better and I have more energy.

How have I managed to do this? Paying attention to my diet.

No, I am not on a starvation diet of a handful of carrot sticks and 4 rice crackers a day. I am eating cake alongside vegetables and having the odd glass of wine with coworkers after a long week. What I have been doing is monitoring my food intake and it has really opened my eyes to what our bodies need (and what we’re not giving them).

I am sure you do not need to use a website such as Fitday.com (which I mentioned the other day) to calculate what percentage of your recommended daily intake you’re getting in terms of vitamins and minerals. I’ve found out after a week of entering foods into my food log, that I am very low in Vitamin E and could do with extra Iron, Calcium and Fiber. I would never have known this unless I had been monitoring what foods I’m eating.

Most foods will specify what %RDI they contain for a number of aspects (fat, protein, carbohydrates) but not all the vitamins and minerals we should be aware of.

Just test it out this week (Fitday.com is free, or you could simply calculate it yourself) and see what your diet is crying out for. You may find that when you eat a balanced diet, that your body will start to thank you for it.

Leave a Reply

