Cyberspace Gems

July 5, 2010 at 6:32 pm (Cyberspace Gems)

Welcome to a new week everyone! I’m not usually that excited and positive on a Monday, but why not start the week with a smile? Before we get into the handpicked gems dotted around the web, here’s a quick peek into my world in the past week…

MADE:   Not much (oh the shame). I guess I virtually made the Muesli o’ Love and Strength that I ordered…

WENT:   To breakfast at Batch Expresso. This is a cafe a few minutes from our house which is New Zealand themed. I was loving the wooden buzzy bee toys, NZ beers and Maori figures on display. Ahhh, looked like home.

GOT:    A handbag and two singlets. That concludes my necessary purchases for my trip. Very exciting – almost 7 weeks away now!

DID:   Win a prize on the radio. I know, I couldn’t believe it either! I haven’t called into a radio competition since I was in my early teens because you can never get through! But at 5.45am on the way to my gym session, I answered the quiz questions and won a gym gift voucher! Figures.  : )

BEEN:   Feeling nostalgic. I am in the middle of writing a post on this feeling and my attitudes towards it. My weekend was full of it.

SAW:   Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Season 1. I was a big Buffy fan back in the day. Who doesn’t love a kick ass girl power figure? I’m just starting to make my way through the series again and loving it.

Here are some posts that have made me think, laugh or nod enthusiastically in agreement. Enjoy!

Why I buy and write for magazines by Nicole Haddow

My friend Sarah at the Style Emporium (the spending Queen) is giving up shopping for Dry July

How to stay afloat when everyone’s pulling you down by LEMON SODA

One of my style fears is addressed by the fab Corrine at Frock and Roll in a post to convince you that wearing skinny jeans doesn’t have to be scary.

Zen Habits teaches us how to simplify while still loving ‘stuff’

The ever wonderful Glamourous Grad Student writes about creating balance in your life

Vanessa at Chicken Soup for the Dorky Soul has written a great post on the Blog Self vs the Real Self

A Valuable Guide to Resisting Temptations in Life by Balance In Me

I’ve also been enjoying Sarah Ayoub’s blog Wordsmithlane which has wonderful insights and information on freelance writing, media and the print industry.

What have you found on the web that you’ve enjoyed reading?
4 Comments

  1. x Corrine/Frock & Roll x said,

    Awww, thank-you so much for the lovely mention, Kimberley! (And trust me when I say that I think YOU’RE a cyberspace gem!)

  2. Vanessa said,

    Thanks for linking to me! I love Corrine’s guide to skinny jeans, too. I’ve never tried them, but she makes it seem not so frightening. I often contemplate going over to the dark side…

  3. Katy said,

    Well, I found your blog and I’d definitely say it’s a cyberspace gem!

    • Kimberley said,

      Thanks Katy, that is such a sweet thing to say! :) Hope you’re having a wonderful week. x

Leave a Reply

