T & T: Bobbi Brown, Hissy Fit and Benefit

August 2, 2010 at 12:48 pm (Beauty) (, , , , , , )

I subscribe to a number of blogs that review beauty products. I love knowing what the beauty trends are, which products are getting a lot of unwarranted attention and which products are secret gems.

So, I have a come up with a new type of post for Dream. Delight. Inspire. which is T & T (Tried and Tested). These posts will feature products that I have bought or been given as gifts, with no correspondence with the company. This ensures that I can express my opinions honestly rather than posting elaborate sales pitches to you all.

Bobbi Brown’s Cabana Coral Palette


What is it?
 The palette consists of 6 eyeshadows, 4 lip shades and two mini brushes. The colours are corals, browns and neutrals – perfect for summer months (Eyes: Ivory, Bermuda Pink, Seashell Pink, Bonfire, Tan and Burnt Sugar. Lips: Cabo Coral, Salmon, Shell and Coral Reef).

Things that make you go mmmm!

  • I love the gold eyeshadow and the lip colours. They’re shades that really work with any colouring. 
  • It’s a great way to test out your favourite shades of coral and what works best for you.
  • It’s compact and has a variety of colours and tones to suit your mood.

Things that make you go hmmm..

  • The price for one. This palette costs $130 and when you see the size of each portion, you may inhale slightly.
  • The lip colours don’t seem to last very long either. This may be because it is winter here and my lips dry out fairly quickly, but they don’t go the distance in my opinion.
  • Doesn’t ship to Australia online yet (David Jones and Myer counters can help you out though).

Verdict:   In hindsight, I’d ask the price of it before I reached the counter credit card in hand. I’d also ask to test out their range of coral lipsticks (which is really what I bought the palette for) to find a rich, creamy shade that stayed put throughout the day. Think about the reasons behind why you’re investing in an entire palette before you buy!

Hissy Fit Lip Service

What is it? A light, moisturising lip balm with SPF 50+ broad spectrum protection which comes in a small 7g package.

Things that make you go mmmm!

  • With shea butter, jojoba oil and vitamin E, this lip balm glides on without being sticky and keeps the lips nourished for hours.
  • These ingredients also aid in reducing the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles.
  • SPF 50+ is perfect for sun protection all year round and higher than a lot of lip balms I’ve seen.
  • Australian made!

Things that make you go hmmm..

  • $20 for 7g seems like a lot but due to the nature of the product, you actually don’t need to use much on each application.

Verdict: I love this product and carry it around everywhere with me. I like that it doesn’t have a strong ‘flavour’ or scent and just gives a light glossy sheen. Natural and not overwhelming.

Benefit Instant Brow Pencil

What is it? A creamy brow pencil complete with blending brush which comes in 3 shades.

Things that make you go mmmm!

  • Not being a huge fan of makeup pencils myself (as they often drag the skin and take numerous applications to get the right look), I was pleasantly surprised at the creamy, smooth texture and how easy it is to apply.
  • The blending tip is a great extra feature.
  • Having 3 shades means that you’ll always get the right colour for your brows (keeping in mind that they should be about 2 shades darker than your hair).

Things that make you go hmmm..

  • Is it just me or are cosmetics becoming unnecessarily pricey? This pencil will set you back $39AUD. I was going to try their Brows A-Go-Go Kit which comes with wax, powders, brushes and tweezers but at $68, it was a little out of my price range. I’ve heard great reviews though.
  • Constant sharpening required.

Verdict: For someone who has previously not done anything with her brows – this is a great, no fuss product that glides on comfortably and doesn’t take up much space in your handbag.

What products have you tried and tested that you’ve fallen in love with?
Leave a Reply

