The Crazy Carry On Concept Part II

August 6, 2010 at 12:02 pm (Travel) (, , , )

A friend of mine struggled to take carry on for a weekend away interstate, and couldn’t believe that I am going to be travelling with only carry on for at least three weeks of our overseas trip to Europe. How am I going to do it? 

My carry on bag from Urban Originals (click for website)

 

CHOOSING THE RIGHT BAG

Size restrictions:  T and I are catching a total of 8 flights, using 5 different airlines. This worked out more cost-effective but it also means that we had to check the dimensions allowed for carry on for each leg. Write down each airline’s luggage restrictions and then take the lowest weight and smallest dimensions – that way you won’t get caught out. 

Weather considerations:  I learned this the hard way when I last went to Europe.
Bags with wheels and snow do not mix. They don’t deal with cobblestones very well either. 

Design:  As we have a few late check in times around the place, I’ll be carrying my bag around with me while exploring so it had to be easy to sling over my shoulder and tuck under my arm safely.
Do you want lots of additional pockets? Do you want lightweight canvas or a more solid leather case? 

WHAT TO PACK

Clothing 

  • 3 singlets (black, white and striped)
  • 1 thin long-sleeved top
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 2 pairs of shoes: one small walking sneakers, one ballet flats
  • 1 skirt or lightweight dress
  • 1 swimsuit
  • 4 pairs of underwear and 2 bras
  • 3 pairs of socks

That still seems like a lot, but keep in mind that you’ll have to wear something on the plane, so that cancels off 1 singlet, the long-sleeved top, jeans, sneakers and 1 of each undergarment. So really, my bag will contain: 

  • 2 singlets, 1 skirt/lightweight dress
  • 1 pair of shoes: ballet flats
  • 1 swimsuit
  • 3 pairs of underwear, 1 bra and 2 pairs of socks
  • Do not pack your entire wardrobe – you will only end up wearing the same few (comfortable) things every day. I plan on hand washing my clothes in the basin and occasionally taking them to a laundromat. I’d much rather buy lovely frocks and accessories over there and save them for our one suitcase on the way home. 

    Cosmetics and Haircare 

    • Deodorant (small roll on)
    • 5ml travel container of Ella Bache serum
    • 5ml travel container of Ella Bache eye cream
    • 10ml travel container of Ella Bache moisturiser
    • MAC foundation and concealer
    • Armani Mascara (trial size from makeup event)
    • NARS Blush/Bronzer Duo
    • Coral Cabana palette by Bobbi Brown
    • MAC gel eyeliner in Blacktrack
    • Benefit brow pencil
    • Hair brush and little hair conditioning sachets
    • Toothbrush, floss and toothpaste

    Shampoo and conditioner you ask? I’ll grab some when we get to London. Ditto with sunscreen. 

    Important additions 

    • 2 x cameras (my Nikon D90 and a point and shoot Canon) + memory cards
    • Travel journal
    • Travel wallet complete with tickets, foreign money and train passes
    • Passport
    • Phone in case of emergencies
    • Power point adaptors for each area of travel
    • Chargers for camera and phone
    • Folder with itinerary (complete with dining, sights and shopping suggestions), train timetable and hotel booking print outs

    Please let me know if you think I’ve forgotten anything! 

    Other travel posts I’m working on are:

    How to plan a lengthy trip without a travel agent
    My favourite travel items
      

    I was also thinking about doing a video post on my packing rehearsal – would you find that interesting?

    1 Comment

    1. Pristine said,

      How about a cardigan, or does the long sleep top cover that?

      A carry on does make sense. During Chinese New Year, I was in China, Hong Kong and Singapore for a total of 3 weeks and I only used half of the clothes I brought. The things that I actually used would have fit into a carry on.

    Leave a Reply

