Postcard: Italy, Spain and Prague

September 24, 2010 at 11:27 pm (Travel)

Sorry for the gap between posts, I am trying my best to keep Dream. Delight. Inspire. up to date during my travels but as most of you will be aware, it’s not that easy. Internet cafes are usually ridiculously expensive and free wifi is fairly elusive (and/or slow). 

1: On a tour bus in Rome. 2: Trevi Fountain (Rome) 3: City square in Valencia

 

Anyway, since my last postcard we have travelled through Italy, Spain and have been in Prague for the last couple of days. In Italy we flew through Cinque Terre, Pisa, Siena (and made a quick pitstop in San Gimignano which is a gorgeous little old town), Verona, Venice and Rome. I was lucky enough to catch up with my parents for about 24 hours in Rome and took my dad on a wine tour which was amusing. 

I have eaten my weight in gelati, pizza, pasta, paella, patatas bravas (fried potatoes with spicy tomato sauce and garlic mayo), various tapas and now strudel. 

Since I was unable to post Things I Love Thursday this week, I’ll jot down a few loves just to keep you in the love loop!  ; ) 

Getting caught in storms and laughing in the rain. Funnily enough, this was in Barcelona after drinking a Pina Colada (as the song goes). It was one of those moments where I’d usually curse the weather but instead just giggled as we rushed to find shelter. 

Chocolate Museum. Need I say more? The ticket was a bar of chocolate and I was already sold. We learned all there is to know about chocolate and saw some amazing sculptures made out of the delicious stuff. 

Eating without guilt. I love food (it’s no secret), so trying all of the fabulous local cuisine has been absolute heaven. I am craving a gym session though (strange huh?). 

Ticking another item off my 25 Things list. After 2 failed attempts (one weather cancellation and a confusing no show), we finally took off in a hot air balloon about 40kms out of Prague. Seeing the sunrise in the chilly haze was breathtaking, making the 5am wake up call well worth it. See the photo below. 

I hope you’ve all had a fantastic week. I have a long list of blog post ideas that I can’t wait to get up on this blog, so by next weekend all will be running smoothly and I hope to entertain, inform, inspire and delight you. 

2 Comments

  1. Vanessa said,

    I’d love to experience a balloon ride someday! I’m not sure if I’d get a little scared of heights, though!

    • Kimberley said,

      I’m a little scared of heights so was doing it to hopefully help in getting over that. Next step, sky diving…maybe. ;)

Leave a Reply

