Time to Unwind

October 26, 2010 at 10:57 am (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

This week is going to be a struggle. It’s one of those dreaded ‘I have so much to do and not enough time to do it’ kind of weeks. I booked tickets to a festival show for tonight, have agreed to cook an extravagant dinner on Wednesday and arranged a social event for a dozen girls on Thursday. I also managed to get myself a gig as the lead singer for a pop/rock duo whose first gig is this Friday, meaning I will have to learn 21 songs off by heart in 5 days (wish me luck)! Usually when life is extremely chaotic I crumble under the pressure, don’t look after myself and end up in a big mess at the end of it. Not this time.

“Me Time” is usually something that gets forgotten in the drama of daily life but is so important for staying sane. If you’re someone who lives by their schedule, block out some time in your diary that is reserved for You Time. A time to relax and unwind in your favourite way and to reflect on your life as a whole.

I decided to study my musical repertoire during my lunchbreak yesterday and have the evening off to get a few things done and relax. Here are a few ways I like to indulge myself while easing out of life a little. Why not try a few this week?

  • A quiet bath. Our new apartment has a gorgeous new bathtub and I intend to pour a whole lot of delicious smelling bubble bath into the comforting hot water, lie back, close my eyes and breathe.
  • Reading without distraction. I find it quite hard to let my mind focus on just the one thing but once I’ve done it I feel much calmer, more together. As a child I had a habit of shutting myself away in my room reading books in bed all weekend (only emerging to eat). I loved becoming absorbed in a story, leaving life behind for a few hours.
  • Beauty treatments. I definitely prefer heading to a salon and having a deep tissue massage or pedicure, but DIY treatments are a lot cheaper and still give you that little boost. Apivita have some gorgeous face masks.
  • Walking in the sunshine. Vitamin D always puts a smile on my face. Extra endorphin points for the walk too!
  • Sleep. Take a short nap to revitalise you, or turn the alarm off on the weekend to let your body clock make the decision for once.
  • Eat. Indulge in your favourite foods but keep your focus on the food, be mindful and savour the flavours (no scoffing in front of the TV). Maybe head out for dinner by yourself at a quiet restaurant with a book.
How do you like to relax?
Do you schedule ‘Me Time’ in your weekly routine?
1 Comment

  1. Vanessa said,

    I try to always have a little “me time” in my week. I make sure I get to nap. It’s pretty much my hobby.

Leave a Reply

