Inspiration Station: One Day I’ll Fly Away

December 8, 2010 at 12:30 pm (Inspiration Station) (, , , , )

I am a bit of a Gossip Girl fan (as you may have seen in my Christmas Wish List) and usually use it as a source of fashion inspiration, but one episode in Season 4 filled me with a different kind of inspiration. Home decor is not usually something that I spend a lot of time worrying about, but now that we have moved into a new apartment with stark white walls; decorations, furniture and accessories have started to catch my eye.

This is a snapshot from the scene where Blair shows Serena the newly decorated bedroom she arranged for her (what a great best friend huh?), complete with a gorgeous butterfly artwork by Paul Villinski (consisting of over 200 butterflies).

Paul creates his butterfly pieces out of recycled materials including crushed beer cans and vinyl records (how cool is that?). The butterfly is symbolic in his work, representing transformation and rebirth. He explained that sometimes the butterflies seem to want to fly in a certain direction and he simply lets them. He describes his process as  “a quiet physical meditation, a yoga of tin snips and files and fingers”. 

Once I discovered Paul and his amazing work, I felt this urge to have a similar installation in our apartment. Since I am unable to buy any of his pieces, I decided to trawl the internet to find something similar. I managed to find a number of handmade paper creations on Etsy that resemble his work, but nothing made out of other unique recycled materials. Then I came across Lightly.

Lightly‘s butterfly creations are made from reclaimed fine bone china saucers and come in a range of patterns. The designer Cindy-Lee Davies’ creations aim to evoke romance of a time gone by with a delicate whimsy. Lightly is a Melbourne based designer house that also stocks beautiful mirrors, lights and accessories.

Leave a Reply

