A Letter to Myself, 2010 and my 25th Year

December 24, 2010 at 7:26 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

Photo by Nany Photography (Flickr)

Dear Kim,

I know you’ll laugh at me for saying this, and I agree that it is probably not at all what you expected, but – I’m proud of you. You have grown up a lot in the past 12 months and really reflected on what is truly important to you. I know it wasn’t easy.

Instead of living (and bathing) in the drama, you have asked yourself where it comes from and tried to eliminate it. You are (trying) to be smarter with money, you resigned from a job that didn’t fulfil you and have let yourself create.

So what if you didn’t complete all 25 Things on your list before your birthday last Tuesday. Does it matter? There is no failure in that, just a bunch of achievements that may never have come to be if you hadn’t put that list together. You paid off most of your debts, bought a beautiful DSLR camera and took a course on how to use it properly, travelled for 5 weeks in Europe, explored new restaurants and bars in Melbourne, got all your health check ups and appointments, bit your nails slightly less than the year before, danced, wrote for a new online publication and sent long handwritten letters to dear friends.

You are more you now than you have ever been. Run where the music takes you in 2011. You will be fine.

Love,

Me.

What would you say to yourself about your 2010?


Also, MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL MY AMAZING READERS! I hope you enjoy the festive season whether it be with family, friends or in your own company – take care and be merry. xx
2 Comments

  1. Vanessa said,

    Merry Christmas to you, too! I hope yours was lovely! AND happy birthday! So many good things at once :)

  2. Claire said,

    Thank you for your lovely comment <3 obviously I drew my inspiration from your own letter – a few choice phrases (in particular the last two lines) were exactly what I wanted to say and just couldn't find the words. Thanks for inspiring me and I hope there's more amazingness to come in 2011 :)
    xxx
    -ps Good luck on your new career venture!

Leave a Reply

