Crisis and Compassion

January 13, 2011 at 10:02 am (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

On Tuesday I was in the middle of putting together a 2011 inspirations post and I couldn’t finish it. My Twitter feed was full of messages about the horrific flooding in Queensland (here in Australia) – evacuation warnings, missing people, pleas for donations and assistance. I couldn’t look away. My heart physically ached and still does when I hear the stories of those who have lost their lives trying to save their families, homes that have been destroyed and people who don’t know where their loved ones are.

The flooding is expected to last through the week and the damage is estimated around $1 billion. I don’t have a lot (read: any) money to my name at the moment, but I felt so passionate about doing something, giving something, that I sent some through. Please do the same here. Every dollar helps.

One positive that I have taken from all this destruction and tragedy is the sense of community which I sometimes feel has been lost in recent years. Australians (and others abroad) have rallied together to support Queenslanders in any way that they can – spreading the word via social media, organising fundraisers, donating money and time and sending their love and their prayers. It is heart warming to see the compassion of so many turned into positive action.

Leave a Reply

