The Inevitable Panic

January 20, 2011 at 4:26 pm (Quarter Life Crisis, Sweet Nothings/Ramblings) (, )

It was bound to happen. You don’t just quit your job to set up a creative home based business without a large degree of panic setting in when the date comes closer.

The 28th of this month is my final day as an administrator. I will no longer write that in the ‘occupation’ boxes on forms, I will be writing Singing Teacher or Vocal Coach (depending on how many spaces they allow).

My mood swings between exhilarated and terrified and I haven’t been sleeping very well lately (my subconscious clearly wants to have its say too). But if you don’t take a leap of faith at some point in your life, won’t you always wonder ‘what if’?

Here are a few things that have been helping me through the panic:

  • Taking time out to just breathe. In….Out…..
  • Encouraging friends (especially ones that have taken the same leap that I have). Anyone that can provide assistance or insight into what you will be going through reiterates that this can be done and it has been done before.
  • Planning for the Worst Case Scenario (particularly budgeting). It sounds counter-productive but if I am prepared for that, then anything better than rock bottom will leave me smiling.
  • Putting together daily schedules. One thing I am worried about is that initially I will be at home, bored and doing nothing, which will leave a lot of time for the panic to really start to take over. Instead, I have planned my days down to the hour, setting aside time for exercise, creative pursuits and domestic duties/errands.
  • Positive affirmations. The cynic in me laughs when I run through my affirmations but part of me also believes in horoscopes, luck and karma.
What calms you down when you’re in a panic about something creeping up in your future? Any tips?

PS: If you know anyone that would like vocal tuition in Melbourne (Australia), maybe you could let them know that this is my website.  : )

3 Comments

  1. Kenya said,

    I was laid off from job in 2009 and instead of forcing my round self into another square hole, I decided to take it as a hint and just do what I love. I’m here to tell you that the panic Is real, but the victories are as well. I heard a story once abt a guy who wanted a new car but he still had his old broken down one sitting in the driveway. He prayed and prayed and nothing ever happened. One day he asked his mom why she thought he hadn’t got the car yet and she said..”well when u get it, where are you going to put it?” I love that story bc its soo true for us creative spirits, we have been taught that we SHOULD do this or do that even when it doesn’t resonate with who we are. So we spend years starring at mediocrity but praying for greatness. I think you have a remarkable talent, you have connected with me all the way in Atlanta, GA. Go ahead and move that old car out the way and get ready for the new one. You deserve it. Oh, and what calms me down is writing of course. Good luck!

  2. Vanessa said,

    I wish you all the very best with this! I don’t know anyone in Melbourne, though. I’m sure this is going to be a wonderful adventure!

  3. Danielle said,

    What calms you down when I am in a panic about something creeping up in your future is making myself a cup of herbal, crawling into my bed, and cuddling with my dogs. By doing that I know that life is just so good and as long as I take time to breathe, everything will work out in the end.

    XOXO,
    Danielle
    itisajoiseywayofthinking.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

