What is holding you back?

March 21, 2011 at 10:11 am (Quarter Life Crisis)

What is your dream job? Where would you love to live/holiday/explore?

Are you there at the moment? If not, why not? When I left my safe, mind-numbingly boring administration job a couple of months ago I was constantly told how brave I was. I don’t think it has anything to do with bravery – I was scared. I was scared that if I didn’t do something NOW, that I would wake up in years, decades even, and nothing would have changed. I would have missed out on doing what I wanted with the short time I have.

The truth is that we can all go ahead and at least give our dreams a go. Give them a chance to become reality, but we’re scared that we might fail. Yeah, we might. But isn’t it better to know that you gave it a go?

The thing that most often holds people back is a fear that they won’t be able to afford their rent or food. Really, it’s about throwing away some of that pride you are holding onto for dear life. Worst comes to worst, you can work weekends in hospitality until your finances start to come together. You could move back home if that’s an option. There is always a way to make things happen, but you have to want it pretty badly.

The way I see 2011 is that this year will be a struggle, but a necessary one. If I can make it through this year, sacrificing some of the creature comforts I once adored, then I will be able to enjoy 2012 – doing what I love. I will be able to stop working like a crazy person on the weekends, my credit card will look healthier and I will have the freedom that I desire.

Tell me your dream and the reasons you haven’t put your plan into action – I’d love to hear about it!

4 Comments

  1. Corrine/Frock & Roll said,

    *Love* this post, love your drive & COMPLETELY agree with each and every word! :) I launched Frock & Roll’s Copywriting services for the exact same reason last year – although I’m not a full-time freelancer (but to be honest, I’m not 110% sure that I coooould be – I need to occasionally escape my home! I NEED to be out there and talking to peopleI), knowing that I’ve formed my own wee business and nurturing a few projects a week feels splendid!

    Good luck with your goals Kim, and remember – fortune tends to favour the brave! ;) (And life is always so much more exciting when striving for something!)

    • Kimberley said,

      Thanks Corrine, I knew you would you stunner you! I think it’s fantastic that you launched your copywriting business and are getting so much out of it. It’s always frightening embarking on a new adventure, but you have done it with integrity and style. Go you! xx

  2. Melinda said,

    What a lovely post.
    We should all chase our dreams, everyone deserves a chance to live their dream.

  3. happinessisrighthere said,

    Fantastic post Kim. You ARE brave, with bravery comes fear and you pushed past your fear to become brave! You are such an inspiration. Keep reaching for those stars girl!!! xxx

Leave a Reply

