Good Morning

July 26, 2011 at 8:46 am (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

It’s been almost six months since I left the corporate world to work for myself at home and it has taken this long to figure out what works best for me in terms of a morning routine. I love to be organised but am hopeless at sticking to a rigid schedule in which I have 42 minutes to complete this and then it’s onto the next thing. That’s just not how I operate.

I do have a few things that I try to incorporate into every weekday morning which help me with my productivity or energy levels or just my sanity.

  • Waking up at the same time every day (where possible)
  • Drinking a cup of green tea
  • Exercising
  • Reading with a coffee
  • Finding some sunshine
  • Writing a to do list
  • Messaging/talking to a friend

On weekends I like to wake up after (hopefully) 8 hours sleep, go to a quiet cafe and (try to) order something nutritious (and a coffee). If I’m lucky, I get a lift out magazine from the paper (Sunday Life is my favourite).

I love going out for breakfast on the weekend. Everyone has that lazy morning vibe and is calmer, more content. They slowly sip away at their hot drinks rather than grabbing them to takeaway in a hurry and smile at screaming children rather than sighing and muttering under their breath. Breakfast on the weekends, in my opinion, is to be savoured and enjoyed.

How do you like to start your mornings?

2 Comments

  1. Nicola said,

    I’m really inspired by you deciding to leave the corporate world and work for yourself. It’s so commendable! How did you make that decision? How did you start to make it happen? What would your tips be to someone else wanting to do the same?

    • Kimberley said,

      Hi Nix, thanks for the comment and the questions. I am working on a post to assist with these questions and an e-book with more detail for people wanting to do the same. I see that you’re onto Steve Pavlina and his genius – a great place to get information and insight. xx

Leave a Reply

