Self love

August 9, 2010 at 11:07 pm (Sweet Nothings/Ramblings)

What do you love about yourself?

I’m not talking about throwaway comments about your eyes, your hair, the way you dress or the fact that you can speak French. What are the qualities that make you who you are that you hope you will hold onto well into your forties, fifties, sixties and older?

I think it’s important to take note of your character – what parts you love and what pieces may need tinkering with. It helps you hold onto what you treasure about yourself and discard what isn’t needed. I meet a lot of women that seem to have “lost themselves”, many who will openly admit this. They often blame marriage, having children or simply not finding what they were looking for in life. But why give up parts of your personality for anything? Remind yourself what makes you who you are and focus on keeping the pieces you love alive and cherished.

THINGS I LOVE

My curiosity. This is often attributed to the fact that I am a Sagittarius. We love adventure and excitement. We love to be involved in everything and, as a child (I hope not quite so much now), I loved to be the centre of attention. But I love to discover. I love to learn. Knowledge (about anything and everything) fascinates me I’m drawn to intelligent people and I love hearing people’s stories and experiences.

My strength. I used to think I was weak rather than strong. I was a self-destructive teenager and didn’t really believe I had any good qualities to share with anyone. I developed an eating disorder along with other unhealthy habits, but even then I was stronger than I thought. When I went to school I was the same bubbly, social girl I ever was. I didn’t want to burden anyone with the pain I was feeling – I wanted to protect them. I pulled myself out of that hole and am now focused on being healthy and rebuilding the relationships with my family that my angst-filled years damaged.

My creativity. I love that I always have to be creating something. Music, art, poetry, projects – I just wish I could harness it a little more (I’m a tad flighty in that respect).

My compassion. A colleague of mine explained that it is obvious that I care a lot about people and that I am very good at building relationships and making others feel comfortable and positive. I smiled when he told me and it gave me a quiet sense of pride.

What do you love about yourself and hope you never lose?

5 Comments

  1. MissStella said,

    I’m a clean freak – might not seem like a worthwhile quality to love, but I do hope I never lose it. Enjoying cleaning makes it easy to find the motivation to do housework !

    My Positivity – ( Most days ) I’m pretty positive. I find it easy to find the good in most situations. I wasn’t always this way but now that I am, life is so much more enjoyable.

    Great post by the way ! Really got me thinking :)

    • Kimberley said,

      I wish I was a clean freak MissStella! Could you send some of that my way? Being positive is also a fabulous trait to keep with you and will get you through any tought times.
      Thank you so much for your comment. xx

  2. Vanessa said,

    I hope I never lose my creativity and my perseverance/stubbornness.

    • Kimberley said,

      I hope you don’t either Vanessa (otherwise your beautiful blog may not stick around)! xx

  3. Catherine said,

    Similar to those above – I hope I never loose my creativity, love of life, thoughtful honesty that comes with a good dose of wisdom rather than bluntness, compassion and positivity.
    Thanks for the great post Kim – you Star!!!

Leave a comment